Monday, November 17, 2014

Winners In Durham Crowned

A cold weekend was warmed up by the excitement of a great venus, great course and the one day a year all three NC trophies are in the same place.

In Open, Terry Gallops was able to finish 4th to win his 4th NC Series. Gallops is now tied with Carlton Howard for second on the all time title list. They both trail Larry Leonard who has six. Brian Schweberger couldn't quite catch Gallops and finished 2nd. Nate Sexton won the last two events of the year to take third and overtook Michael Johansen by a single point.

Dave George won his first title in Masters. Coming in second was Eric Vandenberg and Brian McRee, both tying.

The Advanced division featured some verves as a charging Mitch Dickens almost snagged the title from Ross Trevor. Trevor's 15th place finish was good enough to win the series by 17 points over Dickens. 2013 champion Todd Gingerich won the event and was able to finish third.

The closest battle of the year was between Matt McKone and Jason Hennard. Just 9 points apart heading to Durham, it came down to a single event. McKone struggled in round 1 and couldn't catch Hennard who clinched the title. Reid Stansel snuck into third.

As we close out the 2014 year and award the trophies for the 37th time, it's important that I thank everyone who helped me this year. First off, I thank all the TD's who ran events on the NC Series. They do not have to be involved and it certainly adds a bit of work to an already thankless job. I also have to thank tour Sponsor Spike Hyzer. Spike Hyzer was able to add cash into the payout. And finally, I have to thank Bobby Henn. Bobby did all the points for the series this year.

I have also updated the historical list of winners. This is available on the right. This is our state's history and is amazing to think about this all!

As always, it's important to showcase the payout so players can see how the money is collected. Here is that information.

1. Terry Gallops - $300
2. Brian Schweberger - $180
3. Nate Sexton - $100

1. Dave George - $200
T2. Eric Vandenberg - $112
T2. Brian McRee - $112

1. Ross Trevor: $175
2. Mitch Dickens: $100
3. Todd Gingerich: $60

1. Jason Hennard: $175
2. Matt McKone: $80
3. Reid Stansell: $40

Total Collected $1,512
Total Paid out: $1,649

Can't wait for 2015!

Robert Leonard
North Carolina State Coordinator

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Contenders for Title established

After the third major of the year, we now have a much better picture of who will win each title.

In Open, Terry Gallops has clinched a spot in the top 3. A 10th place finish in Durham will clinch the title for him. Brian Schweberger can catch him with a win an 11th or worse place finish from Gallops. Coming off a win in Rocky Mount, Nate Sexton moved into 4th. With Michael Johansen not scheduled to play Durham, a win will secure Sexton a place in the payout.

The masters division has been won by Dave George already, but there is a tense battle for second. Brian McRee and Eric Vandenberg are tied currently. Matt Peckham, George Alvarez and Anthony Gale all have chances to catch them.

Ross Trevor's lead grew after a solid last round in Rocky Mount. If he finishes 10th or better in Durham, he will clinch the series. Mitch Dickens could catch him after a win in Rocky Mount and then another win in Durham. Both have clinched spots in the payout. Nicholas Licare sits in third but Todd Gingerich and Jake McCoy have chances to knock Licare off the podium.

Matt McKone has a slight lead in Intermediate over Jason Hennard. This year long race could come down to a single hole in Durham. Cory Kirchner sits third, but Jason Wallace, Jeremiah Callicutt and Reid Stansell are within striking distance.

If you aren't playing Durham, come out Sunday and watch some of the world's best compete on one of the best courses in North Carolina. Then hang out and see the most prestigious and famous trophy in North Carolina presented.

Monday, November 3, 2014

Two Events, Two Majors

With 18 events in the books and 2 majors left, it's anyone title to win.

That is unless you are in the masters division.

Based on the results from the past weekend, Dave George of Wilmington has clinched the masters trophy.

Terry Gallops strengthened his lead after a dominating win. Michael Johansen's runner up showing put him in second heading to Rocky Mount. Brian Schweberger is in third. All three are registered for Rocky Mount.

The advanced division has 15 people that still could win the title. Currently Ross Trevor leads over Nick Licare, who are both scheduled to play in Rocky Mount.

The Matt McKone Jason Hennard battle in intermediate. Despite finishing ahead of Hennard, McKone is now three points back based on the events that Hennard dropped. With 100 point events coming up, it could come down to a single putt or a single drive.

Raleigh Winter Jam


A PDGA Sanctioned C-Tier event benefiting the North Carolina Food Bank
All profits from this event and 5 dollars from every entry will be donated to help the North Carolina Food Bank!


Saturday, January 17, 2015

Sign In: 7:00 – 8:30

Required Players Meeting : 8:30 AM

1st Round Tee : 9:00 AM

2nd Round Tee: 1 hour after final card is turned in

Final Nine (top 4 open players): Immediately following final round

Awards : Immediately after the final Nine


Kentwood Disc Golf Course

ENTRY FEES : (All PDGA Divisions will be offered)

All Pro Divisions : $40*

All Advanced Divisions : $30 *

All Intermediate Divisions: $25 *

All Recreational / Junior Divisions: $20

Since this is part of the PDGA Endowment program, there is NO $10 fee for a non-member / non-current member to play.



To be added to the registration list, send your name PDGA and division of choice to

You will be contacted if you are moved off the list. 

Final 9 Layout:

1 – Temp tee at bathroom to 2’s basket

2 – 3’s tee to 4’s basket (tree before creek on 3 is mando left)

3 – 5’s tee to 14’s baskets

4 – 15’s tee to 4’s basket

5 – Temp tee at bathroom to 1’s basket

6 – Temp tee in 10’s fairway to 11’s basket

7 – 14’s tee to 15’s basket

8 – 16’s tee to 17’s basket

9 – 18’s tee to 9’s basket